The Department of Mathematics was founded in 1929, the year of inception of the University. It has been headed by eminent mathematicians Dr. A. Narasinga Rao (1926-1946), Dr. G. V. Krishnaswamy Iyengar (1946-1950), Dr. V. Ganapathy Iyer (1950-1972), Dr. G. Sankaranarayanan (1972-1986), Dr. R. Balakrishnan (1986-1998), Dr. (Mrs.) AR. Meenakshi (1998-2004), Dr. P. Paulraja (2004-2012). Currently Dr. N. Thillaigovindan is heading the Department (since 2012).


      The department regularly organizes National Seminars, Workshops and Conferences. Every year, the Department also conducts Ramanujan Memorial Seminar, Prof. G. Sankaranarayanan Endowment Lectures, Dr. K. Rangasamy - Dr. V. Balachandran Endowment Lectures and Prof. R. Balakrishnan Endowment Seminar.


      The Department has to its credit more than 500 research papers published in reputed international journals. The research results of the department have been cited in many monographs besides survey articles in leading journals, and hence the Department is internationally well known for its research activities.


      Internationally acclaimed Mathematicians such as Professors Marshal F. Nuets, J.G.C. Templeton, G.S. Lade, M. Waldschmidt, J.C. Bermond, F. Jeager, A. Raspaud, D. Sotteau, H. Li. J. Bagga, D. Kannan, M. Sambantham, Y. Manoussakis, V. Balachandran, R. Balasubramanian, and B. Alspach delivered lectures at the Department.


      Professor A. Narasinga Rao, first Head of the Department, was instrumental for the creation of the Indian Mathematical Society. The Indian Society for Probability and Statistics was started by the Department and Prof. Sankaranarayanan as its Founder President. This society also regularly conducts its Annual Conferences. The Ramanujan Mathematical Society was created by the Department. Now it is a well known Mathematical Society and it brings out a journal regularly. The Founder President and Founder Secretary of the Society were our former Heads of the Department, namely, Professors. G. Sankaranarayanan and R. Balakrishnan, respectively. Also, the Mathematics Newsletter was started by the Department and it was supported by the National Board for Higher Mathematics. Prof. R. Balakrishnan, former Head of the Department, was the Managing Editor of the Newsletter for over a decade. Thus the Department not only services for the University but also helps the mathematics community as a whole.