Mechanical Engineering



     Started functioning as a section in July 1945, the Department of Mechanical Engineering attained the status of a separate department in the Faculty of Engineering and Technology in July 1978. Since its inception the department has grown in leaps and bounds under the dynamic leadership of Prof. C.A. Subramaniam, Prof. S.S. Bhatia, Lt. Col. Prof. S. Paul, Prof. C. Rajaram, Prof V.R. Muthuveerappan, Prof. M. Ramalingam, Prof. G. Ambalavanan, Prof. M. Kunjithapatham, Dr. G. Kamaraj, Prof. AR. Ramanathan.  At present the department is headed by Dr.N. Krishnamohan with 8 Professors, 16 Associate Professors and 90 Assistant Professors.


     The department offers the following programmes

          B.E. (Full Time /Part-time)

          M.E. (Full Time/Part-time) Energy Engineering and Management & Thermal Power.

          Ph.D. (Full Time/Part-time).

     The Department comprises of well qualified Teachers and supporting staff. The staff members have published a large number of research papers in National and International Journals of repute apart from participating in seminars/symposiums held in many countries. The department has been dynamic and new programmes and schemes are implemented to improve the all-round performance and personality development of the students.

     The department is well equipped, thanks to the various funding agencies. In particular the department is recognised as a DST-FIST (level-1) Sponsored Department by the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. There are eleven laboratories attached to the Department of Mechanical Engineering to give effective and sufficient practical training at the campus. The students also undergo practical training at other departments.

     To name a few distinguished alumni of the department -
       Gen Y. V. Radhakrishnan, Chief of Corps of Signals.
       Dr. S. Sathik, Former Vice-Chancellor, University of Madras.
       Dr. P. V.Vaidyanathan, Former Vice-Chancellor, Annamalai University.
       Dr. M. Kathiresan, Stoner Inc., USA.
       Dr. C. V. Karthick Narayanan, Industrialist.
       Prof. S. Govindarajan, President UCAL Fuels, Chennai.
       Mr. M. Ramanathan (Volvo Awardee), NASA, USA.
       Dr. D. Viswanathan, Former Vice-Chancellor, Anna University, Chennai.
       Mr. Thangam Thennarasu, Former Minister for School education, Govt. of Tamilnadu.
       Dr. R. Jegannathan, Greaves India, CSIR Awardee