Home > Illustrious Alumni

P. C. Alexander

An Indian Administrative Service Officer of 1948 batch, served as the Governor of Tamil Nadu from 1988 to 1990 and as the Governor of Maharashtra from 1993 to 2002.

Padma Shri. Dr. Bala V. Balachandran

J. L. Kellogg Distinguished Professor of Accounting and Information Management at the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University is the Founder & Dean, Great Lakes Institute of Management Chennai, India.

T. K. Doraisamy

Known by his pen name Nakulan, he was an Indian poet, novelist, translator and short fiction writer, who wrote both in Tamil and English, and is noted for his surrealism and experimentation as well as free verse. He served as Professor of English, Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram for four decades.

R. Gandhi

Appointed as Deputy Governor of Reserve Bank of India in April 2014. During the three years in office as Deputy Governor, Gandhi held charge of almost every area of the Central Bank; initially he held the portfolio of banking, non-banking and cooperative banking regulation, risk management (financial and operational risk management, internal control, and financial stability) and currency management.

D.R. Karthikeyan IPS

An Indian Police Service Officer from Tamil Nadu, he served as a Special Director of the Central Bureau of Investigation and Director General, National Human Rights Commission.

G. Nammalvar

A prominent green crusader, agricultural scientist, environmental activist, philosopher and organic farming expert, he is celebrated for his works on spreading ecological farming and organic farming.

Sujatha Ramdorai

An algebraic number theorist known for her work on Iwasawa theory, is a professor of mathematics and Canada Research Chair at University of British Columbia, Canada. She was previously a professor at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research.

E.V. Sampathkumaran

An Indian Condensed Matter Physicist and a Distinguished Professor at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, he is known for his research on the thermal and transport behaviour of magnetic systems. He is an elected fellow of all the three major Indian Science Academies namely, the Indian Academy of Sciences, Indian National Science Academy and National Academy of Sciences, India as well as the World Academy of Sciences. The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, awarded him the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, for his contributions to Physical Sciences in 1999.

Padma Bhushan Pakkiriswamy Chandra Sekharan

A forensic expert, writer and a former director of the Department of Forensics Sciences of the Government of Tamil Nadu was best known for his contributions in the investigations in the Rajiv Gandhi assassination case.

Padma Bhushan S. Srinivasan

An Aeronautical Engineer and the Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), known for his pioneering work in rocket science. He also served as the director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre and assisted A. P. J. Abdul Kalam in the SLV3 Mission as its deputy director.He was an elected Fellow of the Aeronautical Society of India and the Indian National Academy of Engineering. The Government of India awarded him the third highest civilian honour of the Padma Bhushan, in 2000, for his contributions to Indian space program.

K. Balachander

A renowned filmmaker and playwright who worked mainly in the Tamil film industry. He was well known for his distinct film-making style, and the Indian film industry knew him as a master of unconventional themes and hard-hitting contemporary subject matter. Balachander's films are well known for their portrayal of women as bold personalities and central characters.

Prof. S. Sathikh
Former Vice-Chancellor University of Madras email:Sathikh.dr.s@gmail.com

Prof. P. V. Vaidyanathan

Former Chancellor. SMVTCU, Kanchipuram and Former Vice-Chancellor, Annamalai University.

Dr. V. Irai Anbu, IAS

Additional Chief Secretary/Director. Anna Institute of Management and Directorate General of Training Chennai.

P. Balasubramanian

Chairman Thriveni Earthmovers Pvt. Ltd., Salem

email: balathrivenifoundation@gmail.com

S. Seetharaman

Chairman, Super Auto Forge Private Ltd., Chennai

email: Seetharaman56@yahoo.com

W. S. Aruldoss Kanthiah

Outstanding Scientist & Former Director, Heavy Water Board, Department of Atomic Energy, Mumbai

email: wskanthiah_1947@yahoo.co.in

S. Ilanahai

Managing Director, Cetex Petrochemicals Ltd., Chennai.

email: ilanahai@cetexpetro.com

Paul Pandian

Founder and President Transglobal Technologies Inc., 145 South Fig Street, Escondido, CA 92025.

email: ppandian@transglobaltech.com


Managing Director Cholan Paper and Board Mills Pvt. Ltd., Chengalpattu.

email: cholanmd@gmail.com

C. K. Sridhar

Managing Director Ritechoice Foundations and Engineering (P) Ltd. Chennai

email: csk1958@gmail.com

Dr. V. Veerappan

Co-Founder and President, Tessolve Semiconductor Private Ltd., Bengaluru.

email: veerappan@tessolve.com

Y. Meera Reddy

Managing Director Sri Kausalya Constructions Limited Chennai.

email: ymreddy@skcl.co.in
C. Devarajan

Managing Director, URC Constructions Pvt. Ltd., Chennai.

email: cd@urcc.in

Soundar Rajan Sathappan

Program Director, SAP Asia Pte Ltd., Singapore.

email: soundar.sathappan@sap.com

D. Venkateswaran alias Kumar

Managing Partner-Venbro Polymers, Vice-Chairman-Ulavan Producer Company Ltd., Erode.

email: kumar@ceedees.com

P. Mohan

Managing Director & CEO, Sakkthi Polymers Pvt. Ltd., Sankari.

email: sakkthipoly@yahoo.com

Prof. A. Gnanam

Former Vice-Chancellor of Pondicherry University and Bharatidasan University and University of Madras. Also headed the National Assessment and Accreditation Council.

Prof. D. Viswanathan

Starting from a modest career as a Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, he rose to the highest position of Vice-Chancellor of Anna University.

Prof. T. Balasubramanian

Vice Chancellor at Chettinad Academy of Research and Education Chennai and Former Chairman - SEAC Tamilnadu, Govt. of India Former Director & Dean - CAS in Marine Biology, Annamalai University

N Swaminathan

Vice President – Service Execution.

FLSmidth, Chennai

Sockalingam “Sam” Kannappan

A Professional Engineer, joined University of Texas is a Charter Member of the Society of Piping Engineers & Designers and Advisory Board Member, Asia Society, Texas Center. Texas Governor Rick Perry appointed Kannappan to the Texas Professional Engineers Board from 2012 to 2017. He serves as Enforcement Committee Chairman. He was elected as the Secretary and Treasurer, US National PE Board (NCEES) Southern zone. Houston Mayor Brown declared December 27, 2003 as Sam Kannappan day in Houston to mark his 60th birthday celebration.